About Me

Hi! My name is Carole!

This blog is my place to talk about the things that interest me, write out what’s on my mind, and share the many projects that go on both within my head, and around me.

Now, let me talk a little about myself:

I’m an eighteen year old girl navigating my way through life. I love singing, teaching, creative writing, and much more!

Currently, I’m a classical vocal major at the University of Western Ontario, specializing in music education. I’m going into second year in September 2017, and will serve as the Faculty of Music Students’ Council Secretary, part of the Music Faculty’s Peer Guides, and the Communications Intern of Active Minds Western.

I’ve been singing since I was able to speak! I was the youngest kid in my church to ever join kid’s choir, and apparently I recognized TV commercial music before my own name. I took piano lessons from the time I was 4, stopped when I was 11, then started again a month after I turned 17. By the same token, I started vocals probably around age 8-9 (?) and stopped at the same time as piano. I rekindled my love of music and pursued voice lessons again when I was 16.

During my high school life, I was heavily involved in the building of my school’s music program, as music council secretary, a devoted member of our concert choir, and a cappella vocal group called NEON.

When I was little I took dance (ballet and jazz), though I was never really good and never pursued it. I have a purple belt in karate (yes, I’m aware that’s one level above white).

I wrote my first story when I was 10, after I got grounded and was not allowed to use the computer or play with my D.S Lite (wow). It was entitled, “Natalie Jean: Future New Yorker” or in it’s original draft, “The Lonely Girl”.

Now, I’m a published author! I’ve been published in the Polar Expressions anthologies every year I was in high school (2012-2016). My grade 11 short story, “Under the Apple Tree” won first prize in 2015!

In my spare time, I also worked as a tutor during the duration of my senior year in high school. I spent a lot of time working with children ranging from ages 4-15. My favourite subjects to teach/tutor are English and math.

On a more personal note, I have struggled with anxiety and depression in my teen years, and continue to do so. Though, I don’t see any merit in hiding this from people. I’m a big believer in removing the stigma around mental illness, and always encourage the conversation to go on! I’m always willing to answer people’s questions, or listen, if that’s all they need.

Advertisements